MPC Corp Marketing Weblog

The transparent journey of corporate marketing going 2.0

A List of answers to the question “why social media/2.0”?

Posted by Jen Harris on July 8, 2008

If you are reading this, most likely your answer would be “how can your marketing mix not have social media?”
There are a lot of companies out there that don’t get “it”…”it” being how to use the new tools (blogs, podcasts, vidcasts, social media sites, linking, tagging, etc, etc, etc). 

My job has been to educate those on what social media is, what it does, show what value it has, explain new tools & how we can/should be using them…etc, etc, etc!  But the truth is, I have been doing this for two and a half years & some are just now getting wind that they “have to” have one of these components of new media in order to be taken seriously in the market anymore.  My job is to teach, guide & inform my Director of what I believe we should be doing & in turn, she has to explain it to her boss as to why we should be blogging. 

I admit it, that I can be a bit overwhealming when I get on a roll…it’s because I love making changes in a company that I know will have a positive result (aka: great ROI!).  So this list by Chris Brogan will explain a lot of the catch words that we use on a daily basis to those that are unfamiliar, but want to learn!

Leave a Reply

 
